MPH Apply Now

MPH announces first inductees to new Athletic Hall of Fame

MPH announces first inductees to new Athletic Hall of Fame

Manlius Pebble Hill School will inaugurate its Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday evening, June 12 when it welcomes its first class of inductees.

The independent school will induct athletes, a legendary coach and two teams who loom large in the sports history of MPH and its two predecessor schools, The Manlius School and Pebble Hill School.

The five inductees are:
Former NFL football great John Brockington, a 1967 Manlius School alumnus who went on to play for Ohio State and the Green Bay Packers. The first running back to rush for more than 1,000 yards in each of his first three seasons, Brockington was 1971 NFL Rookie of the Year and is a member of the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame.

Football Coach Tom Cahill, who in 10 years at The Manlius School (1947 to 1957) amassed an astonishing overall record of 66-8-2. Cahill became head football coach at West Point in 1966 and was named Eddie Robinson National Collegiate Coach of the Year. Before leaving West Point in 1973, Cahill led Army to five victories over Navy. This posthumous award will be presented to Cahill’s family.

Multi-sport athlete Mary Rulison, who graduated from MPH in 1973, was named the school’s best all-around athlete in 1971 and 1972 and, in those same years, was Onondaga County Singles Tennis Champion. She was 1972 Onondaga County Girl Athlete of the Year and played on the 1972 MPH field hockey team – the first team in MPH history to have an undefeated season.

The 1963 Manlius Red Knights Football Team, whose 6-1 record earned it United Press International’s rating as the nation’s top prep school football team.

The 2000 Manlius Pebble Hill Soccer Team, which gave the school its first state soccer championship. The team earned the Class D title with a perfect 24-0 season record.

“All of these inductees have brought great distinction to the school’s athletic program over many years,” said MPH Athletic Director Donald Ridall. “We are well known as an academic institution, but now, with our new Hall of Fame, people will also know about our rich sports heritage.”

Athletic figures of national renown will be on hand to present the 2010 inductees – Marty Byrnes (former Syracuse University and NBA player), Lino DiCuollo (former college All-American and Major League Soccer player), Daryl Gross (Syracuse University athletic director), Jeff Mangram (former S.U. football player), and Dolph Schayes (former Syracuse Nationals and NBA player and an NBA Hall of Fame inductee).

Members of the community are invited to attend the inaugural Hall of Fame induction ceremony and dinner at Manlius Pebble Hill School, 5300 Jamesville Road in DeWitt. The induction banquet will take place at 7 p.m. in the school gymnasium.

A special reception with the inductees and guest presenters will precede the dinner at 6 p.m. Tickets for the induction dinner alone are $25; for both the reception and dinner, they are $40. Tickets may be purchased on line at or by calling the MPH alumni office at 446-2452, ext. 136.